Al Jauf Region

 
Al Jauf (also Al Jawf) is the largest land port in the Middle East, serving as the Kingdom's northern gateway. Since ancient times, it has been a route of trade between the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant and Egypt. It is considered the land route for the pilgrims of the Kaaba, the House of Allah, and is one of the most fertile areas in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
 
Location
Al Jauf is located on the Jordanian border. It has a population of about 361,000. Sakaka is the administrative capital of the province with a population of around 114,000.
Al Jauf is situated on both the northern and eastern sides of the border region, and to the south are Hail and Tabuk and parts of the northern and western parts of Jordan. The height of the city ranges from 500 to 580 feet above sea level.
 
Climate
Al Jauf is located within the high semi-orbital pressure belt, which makes the wind a major influence in the region. The dry northeastern wind blows in the winter, making Al Jauf weather stable and cold in this season. It is one of the coldest areas in Saudi Arabia during the winter months.
In January, the daytime temperature reaches 15°C and drops to 2°C degrees in the evening. In summer, temperatures rise to 40°C during the day, and at night it drops to 19°C in the north of the region and 23°C in its south. Rain falls in the region mostly between October and May.
 
Hospitals
Al Jauf features several hospitals, the first being the Central Hospital in Sakaka (Abd al-Rahman al-Sudairy Hospital), which was built in 1965. King Faisal Hospital was also established in Qurrayat, the Diagnostic and Birth Center in Dumat al-Jandal and the General Hospital in Qurrayat.
 
Al Jauf University
Al-Jauf University, which lies between the cities of Sakaka and Duma Al-Jandal includes Science Colleges in Skaka and the Community College in Quarrayat.
The currently under construction University City (expected completion date 2019) is located on a vast land opposite Al Jauf Airport, 35km west of Skaka city, and 20km from the eastern province of Domat Al-Jandal,
 
Cultural and archaeological landmarks
Al-Jauf is a region rich in cultural heritage and great archeology. Visitors to the region will encounter historical diversity, as evidenced by the stability of the prehistoric region.
However, a visit to the province of Dumat al-Jandal is a great opportunity to discover its varied and fascinating historical and cultural heritage, and its high quality natural resources such as olives, dates, and various handicrafts.
 
Among the most prominent features in Al Jauf are: Castle of Zaabal, Rajajil Pillars, Dumat Al Jandal Lake, Omar Ibn Al Khattab Mosque, Mard Castle, Al Daraa District, Kaf Palace and Wadi Al Sarhan.

منطقة الجوف

 
تعد الجوف هي أكبر منفذ بري بالشرق الأوسط حيث يعمل كبوابة شمالية إلى المملكة، وتعرف الجوف منذ العصور القديمة كمسار للتجارة بين شبه الجزيرة العربية وبلاد الشام ومصر، ويمر من أرضها الحجيج القاصدين بيت الله الحرام، كما أنها أكثر المناطق خصوبة بالمملكة العربية السعودية.
 
الموقع
تقع الجوف على الحدود مع الأردن، ويبلغ تعداد سكانها حوالي 361,000 نسمة. وعاصمتها الإدارية هي سكاكا التي يصل عدد سكانها إلى 114,000 نسمة،
تحد منطقة الحدود الشمالية الجوف من الشمال والشرق، وحائل وتبوك من الجنوب، ودولة الأردن من الشمال والشمال الغربي، ويتراوح ارتفاع المدينة من 500 إلى 580 قدمًا فوق سطح البحر.
 
المناخ
تقع الجوف ضمن حزام الضغط المرتفع شبه المداري، مما يجعل الرياح من أشد العوامل المؤثرة في المنطقة، فتهب عليها في فصل الشتاء الرياح الشمالية الشرقية الجافة، مما يجعل طقس الجوف مستقرًا وباردًا في هذا الفصل. تعدّ المنطقة من أبرد المناطق السعودية في الشتاء،
حيث تصل درجة الحرارة نهارًا في شهر يناير إلى 15 درجة وتنخفض إلى درجتين في المساء، وتبلغ درجات الحرارة صيفًا 40 درجة مئوية في النهار، وتنخفض إلى 19 درجة في شمال المنطقة و23 في جنوبها، وتسقط الأمطار على المنطقة في الأغلب بين شهري أكتوبر ومايو.
 
المستشفيات
تضم الجوف العديد من المستشفيات أولها المستشفى المركزي في سكاكا (مستشفى عبد الرحمن السديري) الذي تأسس في سنة 1965 ليكون أول مستشفى في المنطقة، هذا إلى جانب مستشفى الملك فيصل بالقريات ومركز التشخيص والولادة بدومة الجندل والمستشفى العام في القريات.
 
جامعة الجـوف
تأسست الجامعة في موقع يتوسط مدينتي سكاكا ودومة الجندل وتضم كلية العلوم الطبية التطبيقية بسكاكا وكلية المجتمع بالقريات،
هذا إلى جانب جامعة المدينة (تحت الإنشاء حاليًا ويتوقع لها أن تكتمل في 2019) حيث تقع في مساحة شاسعة مقابل مطار الجوف، على بعد 35 كم إلى الغرب من مدينة سكاكا، و20 كم إلى الشرق من محافظة دومة الجندل.
 
المعالم الثقافية والأثرية
تمتاز الجوف بالثراء من حيث الموروث الثقافي والآثار الخالدة، حيث يلحظ زوار المنطقة تنوعها الثقافي الذي يدل عليه تاريخها الممتد إلى عصور ما قبل التاريخ، بيد أن زيارة محافظة دومة الجندل تعد فرصة عظيمة لاكتشاف تاريخها المتنوع والمبهر وإرثها الثقافي، إلى جانب الموارد الطبيعية عالية الجودة كالزيتون والتمور والحرف المختلفة المنتشرة فيها.
 
ومن أشهر معالم الجوف: قلعة زعبل وأعمدة الرجاجيل وبحيرة دومة الجندل ومسجد عمر بن الخطاب (رضي الله عنه) وقلعة مارد وحي الدرع وقصر كاف ووادي السرحان.