Al Qassim


Al Qassim is an administrative area followed by 13 provinces, and the city of Buraidah is its administrative capital. The Qassim region is famous for agriculture and for being the cornerstone of the local economy.
 
Location
Qassim borders the north and north-west of Hail, south and east of Riyadh, and south-west of Medina.
Al Qassim is of great importance as it is located between the major regions of the Kingdom and covers an area of over 70,000 square kilometers.
 
Climate
In summer, the Al Qassim climate is desert continental, dry and hot, whereas in winter it is cold and wet.  In summer, temperature reaches 45°C, and in winter they can fall up to -3°C.
One of the most important agricultural products of Al Qassim are dates, lemons, oranges and other fruits.  Wheat production has also become so successful that the city of Buraidah is now one of the largest sources of agricultural production in the Kingdom.
 
Hospitals
The Qassim region includes a number of hospitals and public and private health facilities, including King Fahd Specialist Hospital, Buraidah Central Hospital, Childbirth and Child Hospital in Buraidah, King Saud Hospital in Unaiza, Al-Rass Hospital, Prince Sultan Center for Cardiac Surgery and Prince Faisal Center for Oncology .
 
Qassim University
Qassim University was established in 2004 by merging two branches of Imam Muhammad Bin Saud Islamic University and King Saud University. Since its inception, the University has seen remarkable growth in enrollment rates and a significant expansion in the recruitment of faculty and administrative staff.
 
Cultural and archaeological landmarks
Al Qassim is rich in heritage, natural landmarks and traditional handicrafts. Its geographical location allows it to be a centre of diverse cultures and festivals, especially the Festival of Dates, which takes place annually in August and September.
Al-Qassim region contains a number of archaeological sites such as: Al-Shunana Tower, Al-Suwailem Square, Al-Khobara Village, Al-Naslaa Rock, Al-Mathnab Village, Souk Al- Al Musawkaf, and Beit Al Bassam.
It is also known for  the Al Awshziyah lake, the ruins of the city of Al-Rass, the Al-Aoqilat Museum, the Equestrian Square, the engraved inscriptions on the Kuwaifer Plateau, the Al-Dubaikhi Palace, the King Khalid Cultural Center, Jabal Rama and Mount Ramattan.
 
Dates City
A shopping trip to the Al Qassim dates market is an unforgettable experience, especially when you visit during the harvest season in August and September.  The date city has the main market in Buraidah, where the Dates Annual Festival is organized.  Additionally, there are markets for selling perennial and seasonal dates.

Water Tower
The three-storey water tower in Buraidah is considered a distinctive landmark and tourist attraction for the region.  It comprises an open floor at the top, with a 1,000 square meter reception hall including a balcony allowing visitors to take in panoramic views across the city.

Buraidah Public Park
This beautiful park occupies 49,000 square meters and features a swimming pool, fountains, waterfalls, café, children’s playground and basketball court and is a great day out for the whole family.

Shopping in Al Qassim
Visitors can shop for unique antiques, textiles and traditional arts in Al Qassim’s main cities of Buraidah and Unaizah. There are many souks located around the region where you can find souvenirs to take home and treasure.
There are also many shopping malls in the Al Qassim region offering a wide selection of international brands including Al-Othaim Mall (Buraidah), Al Nakheel Mall (Buraidah), and Sahara Mall (Ar Rass).

القصيم

 
تتبع منطقة القصيم الإدارية 13 محافظة وتعد مدينة بريدة هي العاصمة الإدارية للمنطقة، وتشتهر منطقة القصيم بالزراعة كما أنها مركز النشاط الاقتصاد المحلي.
 
الموقع
تحد القصيم منطقة حائل من الشمال والشمال الغربي، ومنطقة الرياض من الجنوب والغرب والمدينة المنورة من الجنوب الغربي،
وترجع أهمية القصيم لموقعها الحيوي بين مناطق المملكة الكبرى حيث تصل مساحتها إلى أكثر من 70,000 كم مربع.
 
المناخ
تتميز القصيم بالمناخ الصحراوي القاري مع جفافه وسخونته صيفًا، الذي يتحول إلى بارد ممطر شتاءً، فتصل درجة الحرارة في الصيف إلى 45 درجة مئوية، وقد تصل في الشتاء إلى -3 درجات مئوية تحت الصفر.
وتعد التمور أهم الحاصلات الزراعية لمنطقة القصيم إلى جانب الليمون والبرتقال والفواكه الأخرى.  هذا إلى جانب إنتاج القمح الذي أصبح ناجحًا للغاية، حيث أصبحت بريدة الآن أحد أكبر مصادر الإنتاج الزراعي بالمملكة.
 
المستشفيات
تضم منطقة القصيم عددًا من المستشفيات والمرافق الصحية العامة والخاصة، كمستشفى الملك فهد التخصصي ومستشفى بريدة المركزي ومستشفى الولادة والأطفال في بريدة ومستشفى الملك سعود في عنيزة ومستشفى الرس العام ومركز الأمير سلطان لمعالجة أمراض وجراحة القلب ومركز الأمير فيصل للأورام.
 
جامعة القصيم
تأسست الجامعة سنة 2004 بعد اندماج فرع جامعة الإمام محمد بن سعود الإسلامية مع فرع جامعة الملك سعود. ومنذ تأسيس جامعة القصيم وهي تشهد نموًا مشهودًا في معدلات الالتحاق والتسجيل إلى جانب التوسع في التعيينات بهيئتي التدريس والشؤون الإدارية.
 
المعالم الثقافية والأثرية
تشتهر القصيم بتراثها العريق إلى جانب المعالم الطبيعية والحرف اليدوية، حيث يسمح لها الموقع الجغرافي بأن تكون مركزًا للثقافات المتنوعة والمهرجانات، لا سيما مهرجات التمور الذي ينعقد سنويًا في أغسطس وسبتمبر من كل عام.
وتضم منطقة القصيم عددًا من المواقع الأثرية على غرار: برج الشنانة ومقصورة السويلم ورياض الخبراء وصخرة النصلة وبلدة المذنب التاريخية وسوق المسوكف الشعبي وبيت البسام.
كما تعرف ببحيرة العوشزية وأطلال مدينة الرس ومتحف العقيلات ومضمار الفروسية والنقوش المنقطة على هضبة الكويفر وقصر الدبيخي ومركز الملك خالد الحضاري وجبل رامة وجبل راماتان.
 
مدينة التمور
تعد زيارة سوق التمور بالقصيم تجربة لا تنسَ، لا سيما في موسم الحصاد في أغسطس وسبتمبر. يقع سوق التمور الرئيسي في بريدة حيث ينظم مهرجان التمور السنوي، هذا إلى جانب الأسواق الأخرى لبيع فسائل النخيل والتمور الموسمية.
برج المياه
يعد برج المياه المكون من ثلاثة طوابق بمدينة بريدة معلمًا مميزًا ومقصدًا سياحيًا من معالم الجذب السياحي بالمنطقة، ويتألف من طابق مفتوح في الأعلى وساحة استقبال بمساحة 1000 متر مربع شاملاً الشرفة التي تسمح للزوار بأخذ إطلالة بانوراميه على المدينة.
حديقة بريدة العامة
تشغل الحديقة الخلابة مساحة 49,000 مترًا مربعًا وتضم مسبحًا إلى جانب النوافير والشلالات والمقهى وملاعب الأطفال وملعبًا لكرة السلة حيث يمكن لجميع افراد العائلة قضاء يومًا رائعًا في الهواء الطلق.
التسوق في القصيم
يمكن للزوار التسوق وشراء التحف والمنسوجات والمشغولات الفنية التقليدية من مدن القصيم الكبرى كبريدة وعنيزة، حيث توجد العديد من الأسواق المنتشرة بالمنطقة التي يمكن العثور فيها على الهدايا التذكارية للاحتفاظ بها بين مقتنيات المنزل.
هذا إلى جانب المجمعات التجارية ومراكز التسوق الموجودة في منطقة القصيم وتضم نخبة واسعة من العلامات التجارية العالمية كأسواق العثيم (بريدة) ومركز النخيل (بريدة) وصحارى مول (الرس).