Riyadh City


Riyadh is the capital of Saudi Arabia, and the Kingdom’s largest and most populous city.  The city spans an area of 1,798 square kilometers, and boasts a population of more than six and a half million people.
 
Location
Riyadh is located on a plateau up to 600 meters above sea level in the eastern part of the Najd Plateau. It is 389 km away from Dammam, 869 km from Medina, 880 km from Mecca, 1048 km from Ar Rass, 1310 km from Tabuk, 1245 km from Jazan, 641 km from Hail, 338 km from Buraydah, and 1051 km from Abha.
 
Climate
The climate of the city of Riyadh is characterized by hot, dry weather in the summer with a great variation in temperature during the winter months. Rain falls irregularly, but when it does it is usually limited to between November and May.
 
Government Headquarters
Riyadh plays hosts to the central government bodies, the Royal Court headquarters, and the Presidency of the Council of Ministers.  In addition, all ministries and government agencies, most of the major local and international banks and corporations and a large number of governmental and private health institutions are based within the city.
 
Universities
There are many public and private universities and colleges in Riyadh, the most prominent of which are: King Saud University, Imam Mohammad Bin Saud Islamic University, Saudi Electronic University, Arab Open University, Prince Sultan University, Riyadh Elm University, Faculties of the Arab East and Princess Noura University.
 
Cultural Monuments
The capital city of Riyadh offers a number of museums belonging to official bodies, private entities and groups. The Saudi National Museum is located in King Abdulaziz Historical Center. The total area of its two-storey building is 28,000 square meters. Riyadh also hosts the Island Falcon Museum of Aviation, the Museum of Currencies, and the Archaeological Museum at King Saud University, the Heritage Museum of Arts and Crafts, and the Peninsula Museum.
 
Janadria
Riyadh hosts the annual Janadria Cultural Heritage Festival which was launched in 1985 and attracts large numbers of visitors from both inside and outside the Kingdom. The capital is also famous for the Festival of Dates and the Spring Festival of Riyadh.
 
Dir’iyah
The historic city of Ad’Diriyah, located on the north-west fringes of the city, served as the capital of the first Saudi state and was the original home of the Saudi Royal Family.  The city is a very popular tourist destination and it features a variety of fascinating places to discover. These include the Turaif district (the place of government and the ruling family), which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and includes a number of magnificent buildings, the Salwa Palace, the house of money and other huge mud constructions.  Other places of interest include the Guest House and the At-Turaif Bath House, courtyards, a mosque and much more.
 
Significant Landmarks
Riyadh has many significant and famous landmarks such as Al Faisaliah Tower, The Kingdom Tower, King Abdullah Financial Center, Riyadh Zoo, King Khalid International Airport, Wadi Hanifah, and Imam Turki bin Abdullah Mosque.
 
Historic Sites
Riyadh also features many archaeological sites such as the gates of the city of Riyadh (Al-Thumairi’s Gate or Bab Al-Thumairi, Bab al-Suwailim, Bab Dakhna or Dechnh’s Gate, Bab al-Mazhab, Bab al-Shemesy). There are four historical palaces: Qasr al-Muammark, Qasr al-Murabba, Qasr al-shemesy, Palace of Prince Mohammed bin Abdul Rahman.
 
Shopping
Riyadh is a shoppers paradise, and is home to a number of lavish shopping malls located around the city including Al Nakheel Mall, The Kingdom Centre Tower, Riyadh Gallery Mall, Granada Center, Panorama Mall, Centria, Al Hamra Mall, and Hayyat Mall to name but a few.
 
Leisure Activities
The amount of leisure based activities in Riyadh has expanded rapidly over recent years.  Some of our recommendations for a fun day in the city include:
 
  • Universal Bowling Centre
  • Strike Bowling Alley
  • SAKAB Equestrian Club of Riyadh
  • Escape Arabia
  • Firstainment
  • Vox Cinemas

مدينة الرياض

 
عاصمة المملكة العربية السعودية وأكبر حواضرها مساحة وسكانًا،  فتمتد على مساحة 1,798 كم مربع ويقطن بها أكثر من ستة ملايين ونصف نسمة.
 
الموقع
تستقر الرياض فوق هضبة بارتفاع 600 مترًا فوق مستوى سطح البحر بالجزء الشرقي من هضبة نجد، وتبعد عن الدمام بمسافة 389 كم وعن المدينة المنورة بمسافة 869 كم وعن مكة المكرمة بمسافة 880 كم وعن الرس بمسافة 1048 كم وعن تبوك بمسافة 1310 كم وعن جزان بمسافة 1245 كم وعن حائل بمسافة 641 كم وعن بريدة بمسافة 338 كم وعن أبها بمسافة 1051 كم.
 
المناخ
يتسم طقس مدينة الرياض بالحرارة والجفاف صيفًا مع التفاوت الشديد في درجات الحرارة خلال أشهر الشتاء، مع هطول الأمطار بصورة غير منتظمة فتسقط حصريًا في العادة بين شهري نوفمبر ومايو.
 
مقر الحكومة
تستضيف مدينة الرياض أجهزة وهيئات الحكومة المركزية وقصر الحكم ورئاسة مجلس الوزراء، إلى جانب جميع الوزارات والجهات الحكومية، وأغلب البنوك والمصارف المحلية والدولية الكبرى والشركات بالإضافة إلى عدد كبير من المؤسسات والمرافق الصحية الحكومية والخاصة التي تتخذ من مدينة الرياض مقرًا لها.
 
الجامعات
تحتضن الرياض العديد من الجامعات والكليات العامة والخاصة، أهمها: جامعة الملك سعود وجامعة الإمام محمد بن سعود الإسلامية والجامعة الإلكترونية السعودية والجامعة العربية المفتوحة وجامعة الأمير سلطان وجامعة رياض العلم وكليات الشرق العربي وجامعة الأميرة نورة.
 
الآثار والمعالم الثقافية
تضم الرياض عددًا من المتاحف سواء التابعة لجهات حكومية أو خاصة أو أهلية، يأتي على رأسها المتحف الوطني السعودي بمركز الملك عبد العزيز التاريخي، وتبلغ المساحة الإجمالية للمبنى المؤلف من طابقين 28,000 كم مربع. تستضيف الرياض كذلك متحف صقر الجزيرة للطيران ومتحف العملات ومتحف الآثار بجامعة الملك سعود ومتحف التراث للفنون والحرف ومتحف شبه الجزيرة.
 
الجنادرية
تستضيف الرياض المهرجان الوطني للتراث والثقافة (الجنادرية) الذي بدأت أولى دوراته في 1985 حيث يجتذب أعدادًا ضخمة من الزوار من داخل المملكة وخارجها. كما تشتهر الرياض بمهرجان التمور ومهرجان الربيع.
 
الدرعية
تقع مدينة الدرعية التاريخية على التخوم الشمالية الغربية للرياض، وكانت فيما مضي عاصمة الدولة السعودية الأولى وموطن الأسرة السعودية الحاكمة.  تعد الدرعية وجهة سياحية مفضلة فتضم مجموعة متنوعة من المعالم الشهيرة والأماكن المثيرة التي تستحق الزيارة والاكتشاف، كحي الطريف (مقر الحكم والأسرة الحاكمة) أحد المواقع المدرجة في قائمة اليونسكو للتراث العالمي الذي يحتوي على عدد من المباني الرائعة كقصر سلوى وبيت المال والمباني الطينية الأخرى، إلى جانب المآثر الأخرى كالمضيف (بيت الضيوف) وحمام الطريف والساحات الواسعة والمسجد القديم والكثير الكثير غيرها.
 
أهم المعالم
تحفل الرياض بعدة معالم شهيرة كبرج الفيصلية وبرج المملكة ومركز الملك عبد الله المالي وحديقة الحيوانات بالرياض ومطار الملك خالد ووادي حنيفة ومسجد الإمام تركي بن عبد الله.
 
المواقع التاريخية
تزخر الرياض كذلك بالعديد من المواقع الأثرية كبوابات المدينة القديمة (بوابة الثميري وبوابة آل سويلم وبوابة دخنة وبوابة المذبح وبوابة الشميسي) القصور التاريخية: قصر المصمك وقصر المربع وقصر الشمسية وقصر الأمير محمد بن عبد الرحمن.
 
التسوق
إضافة نسخة عامة عن التسوق في الرياض بدلاً من ذكر مجمعين للتسوق فحسب
 
الرياضة
إضافة نسخة ما عن عوامل الجذب والفعاليات الرياضية